This is a: One Time Gift Monthly Donation

Close Donation Form

Energy Freedom
OPI attack of Devon Energy not based on facts

May 10, 2017 - 5:27pm CDT

By Steve Anderson, CPA and Jonathan Small, CPA The Oklahoma Policy Institute (OPI) recently attacked Oklahoma-based Devon Energy, accusing the corporation of a windfall of profits and avoiding Oklahoma corporate income taxes. Here is the statement that OPI released: “Number for the day 0.3%—Effect... READ MORE

Next Steps to End Wind Tax Giveaways

May 1, 2017 - 9:06am CDT

A law signed recently by Gov. Mary Fallin will end Oklahoma’s zero emissions tax credit for the wind industry on July 1, 2017. House Bill 2298, by House Speaker Charles McCall and Senate President Pro Tempore Mike Schulz, accelerates the sunset for new zero emission tax credits for wind energy, ensu... READ MORE

End Tax Cronyism in Oklahoma

April 1, 2017 - 12:53pm CDT

By Will Freeland Tax cronyism is the subversion of sound, pro-growth tax policy—away from universal and uniform applicability to all taxpayers and towards the interests of the politically favored and connected. These sorts of tax provisions create competitive disadvantages in markets and massive e... READ MORE

Many misconceptions about benefits of wind industry in Oklahoma

March 13, 2017 - 2:25pm CDT

In "Wind power key to state's rural economy" (Point of View, March 4), Beaver County Commissioner Brad Raven outlined reasons he believed industrial wind was good for rural Oklahoma. I'd like to clear up a few misconceptions. While the industry continues to claim that wind power is “cheap, ... READ MORE

It’s Time to Repeal Wind-Energy Tax Incentives

January 1, 2017 - 3:00pm CST

By Byron Schlomach Due to the issue of global warming, or climate change, or catastrophic weather—that is, the claim this real-or-not phenomenon has resulted from mankind’s production of carbon dioxide and the resultant increase in that trace gas’s concentration in the atmosphere—the federal govern... READ MORE

Select Policy Center:
View By Year
2017 2016 2015 2013 2012